What is Strength?

What is strength? To me, Strength is believing in love even after many heartbreaks. It’s drying your own tears so that no one knew you cried. Strength is overcoming your own demons or vices all by yourself. It is looking at someone who completely broke you and forgiving them. Strength is helping others even when it’s you who needs the help and hasn’t quite figured it out yet. It’s trusting everyone even though you have every reason not to. It’s being numb overall but still putting up a smile in front of everyone.
But what is the truth? The brutal truth?
The truth is — I’m strong but I’m tired.
I’m tired of being hurt every time I get my hopes up.
I’m tired of anticipating the worst and watching it play out.
I’m tired of being let down.
I’m tired of people telling me I need to change. And every time I try to I lose myself in an attempt to make them happy, I’m still not enough.
I’m tired of overthinking.
I’m tired of trying so hard to please others when I don’t ask for much in return.
I’m tired of being strong for everyone.
I’m tired of the explanations that came too late or never came.
And I’m tired of all those people walking away with no reason when I’m the one holding the door saying, ‘I’ll miss you.’

The truth is caring as much as this hurts. It’s knowing pain at levels others never will. It’s knowing sadness and darkness the way others don’t. There is something rare about a person that strong. They are the healers of the world. They are the light for others in darkness. They are the hope when everyone has lost it.

If you loved what I wrote then don’t forget to leave a comment and follow me here & all my social media! Spread positivity and happiness around yourself. Be a part of the Elysian messy journey! 🙂

“Don’t forget to remember, if you’re not smiling you’re doing it wrong”- Alex Wassabi(YouTuber)

 

Leave a Reply

